OPULUXELtd.com LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN

___oOo___EVENT Planning___oOo___LUXURY eStore___oOo___TRAVEL Agency___oOo___

NEW Fragrance Review : Yves Saint-Laurent Belle d’Opium via [basenotes, vex in the city, and nstperfume]

Share|

icon blurbs

Like this at Facebook Be the first in your friends to like it

Belle d’Opium Yves Saint Laurent commercial

via [YouTube]

}}1.{{ via vexinthecity.com

YSL Belle D’Opium

My Mum is a huge fan of the original YSL Opium fragrance, it’s her favourite perfume. I on the other hand am not. I find it far too spicy, heavy and heady for my sensitive snout and I was a little apprehensive about trying Belle D’Opium, the new sister fragrance to this iconic scent.
I’ll never forget the day I bought Opium for my Mum knowing how much she loves it. I had a sniff one day and it almost blew my head off! It takes one hell of a woman to rock Opium and Belle D’Opium despite being dubbed as the ‘next generation’, younger version doesn’t quite match up to the original. It still has those woody tones to it, but I find it lighter and easier to wear.
https://i0.wp.com/www.mimifroufrou.com/scentedsalamander/images/Belle-opium-commercial.jpg

Am I the only one reminded of that those Turkish Delight adverts that used to come on in the 80s when they look at this promo shot? I don’t find the image very alluring, despite that clearly being its intention.

Its notes are a combination of casablanca lily, sandalwood, jasmine absolute, white pepper, gardenia and hookah accord, it’s less spicy than the original Opium, yet, still a warm scent which compliments this time of year and which I think would bode well as an evening perfume.
I’m a big fan of the bottle, which I think is sexy, unique and looks attractive amongst my other perfume bottles. I am indeed a sucker for pretty packaging!

Love the bottle!

My initial thoughts on the scent itself? It doesn’t last very long, it had all but faded away within an hour, leaving a faint trace of amber-like goodness in its wake. I think this will be disappointing for fans of the original as it’s basically a watered down version. I don’t dislike the scent but it doesn’t blow me away. I’d rather keep re-purchasing my beloved Bath & Bodyworks Sensual Amber for a fraction of the price instead, which lasts for hours and dare I say it, smells much nicer!
No doubt my Mum will still love this being the Opium obsessive she is!

Prices start at £39 for 30ml

}}2.{{ via nstperfume.com

Yves Saint Laurent Belle d’Opium ~ fragrance review

Posted by Angela  

Yves Saint Laurent Belle d'Opium advert

On first smelling Yves Saint Laurent Belle d’Opium, two words came to mind, and they weren’t “must buy.” No, they were “hairspray oriental.” I like some of Opium’s flankers — the lovely Fleur de Shanghai* is a treat on a summer’s night. But rather than referring to Belle d’Opium as a flanker, YSL calls it the “next generation” of Opium. If that’s the case, somebody please talk to Opium about birth control.

Perfumers Honorine Blanc and Alberto Morillas developed Belle d’Opium, giving it notes including Casablanca lily, sandalwood, gardenia, white pepper, jasmine, and narguile accord. After a generous spray of Belle d’Opium, I smell a hint of orange before gardenia takes over. The gardenia isn’t the wet, tropical gardenia of Estée Lauder Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia or even Jovan Jungle Gardenia, but is a thin, synthetic flower coated in Aqua Net. A thread of tobacco and fruit run through the gardenia. The tiniest bit of jasmine hums along, too. Because of a little resin and amber, Belle d’Opium does smell like a high-pitched relative of Opium, but without Opium’s drama and deep, clove-y spice.

Just when I thought I had Belle d’Opium pegged as a synthetic, screechy gardenia-based oriental, a thin, woody musk asserted itself. The fragrance began to reorient itself to what some perfume companies have been calling a “modern chypre,” smelling more to me like bug spray than bergamot-oakmoss-patchouli-wood-labdanum of a real chypre. This foul accord has torpedoed too many department store launches over the past three years, and I hope it ends soon. For me, it’s a one-way ticket to a migraine. I’ve read reviews of Belle d’Opium lamenting its lack of persistence, but on me it lasts a good four hours.

In an article in Elle magazine**, perfumer Calice Becker compares mainstream perfumes to formulaic romantic comedies. “With mass perfume, it’s the same: We go for the stars that we know everyone likes.” But the same article goes on to quote Vera Strubi, the former president of Thierry Mugler perfumes. About Angel‘s launch, she says, “That’s when I realized that if you want a fragrance to be memorable, it can’t please everybody.”

Yves Saint Laurent Belle d'Opium perfume bottle

Opium took a bold stance over 30 years ago, and it still sells well, offending and delighting across the globe. Belle d’Opium, on the other hand, tries to be a romantic comedy, if with a vaguely oriental feel. I doubt Belle d’Opium will never win an Academy Award. Heck, I’d be surprised if it made it to Dancing With the Stars.

Yves Saint Laurent Belle d’Opium is available in 30, 50 and 90 ml Eau de Parfum.

*If anyone at Yves Saint Laurent is reading, please bring back Fleur de Shanghai!

**April Long, “As You Like It.” Elle, November 2010, page 242.

https://i0.wp.com/www.perfumesyregalos.com/874-1009-large/YVES-SAINT-LAURENT-BELLE-D-OPIUM-30ML.jpg


Belle d’Opium (2010)
by Yves Saint Laurent

Belle d’Opium Fragrance notes

Casablanca lily, Sandalwood, Gardenia, White pepper, Jasmine, Narguile

via [Basenotes]



OPULUXELtd.com                      LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN

↑ Grab this Headline Animator



1 Comment»

  Design Yves wrote @

[…] NEW Fragrance Review : Yves Saint-Laurent Belle d'Opium via … Belle d'Opium Fragrance notes. Casablanca lily, Sandalwood, Gardenia, White pepper, Jasmine, Narguile. via [Basenotes]. Share. icon blurbs.  LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN ↑ Grab this Headline Animator . […]


Leave a Reply

