OPULUXELtd.com LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN

___oOo___EVENT Planning___oOo___LUXURY eStore___oOo___TRAVEL Agency___oOo___

Book Review: Chowhounds by Dr. Ernie Ward via [LifeofaBusyMom.com]

Share|

icon blurbs

Host: Ernie Ward

Ernie Ward

“Chowhounds: Why Our Dogs Are Getting Fatter—A Vet’s Plan to Save Their Lives”

About a month ago I was given the opportunity to take a sneak peek at the book, “Chowhounds: Why Our Dogs Are Getting Fatter—A Vet’s Plan to Save Their Lives” by Ernie Ward D.V.M. Dr. Ernest Ward, DVM, or “Dr. Ernie,” is a practicing veterinarian who is dedicated to helping pets and their humans live healthier lives. He appears regularly on the Rachael Ray Show, and has been featured on Animal Planet, NBC Nightly News, and CNN.

As soon as I read about him, I was interested in seeing what his book was all about. As most of you know, almost six months ago Dinsmore became extremely ill and after a lot of painful appointments, we discovered that he suffers from canine colitis, which is very similar to colitis that humans get. He was on tons of medications, needed lose about five pounds, and his entire diet had to change. Because of the illness, his weight came off quickly (and not all by choice), but for other dogs that have issues, it is not that easy. I mean I can barely lose five pounds so how was I expected to make my 25 dog lose five pounds. We were very lucky with Dinsmore, and he is now on a strict diet regime integrated with activity, and stress management techniques.

via[YouTube]

After reading this book, I became aware of how much I did not know about taking care of my little guy. This book is broken down in an easy to read format that gives you the opportunity to see why your dog could be overweight, and healthy ways to change its life with food, exercise, and gives the owner a greater understanding about your four legged friend.

The book was extremely easy to read, and really opened my eyes about a lot of things. What has stuck with me is chapters he wrote about dog food regulations, and what the different types of food (entree, flavored, etc.) really mean, and my friends it was not as pretty as you think. This book is completely fascinating, and there are even tasty recipe treats for your fur-baby.

I wish I had read this book a lot sooner. It made me reflect on how many things I could have done differently if I had just known. Even though I finished this book a couple weeks ago, I have gone back and checked with it a couple times when talking or looking at things in Dinsmore’s life. Even if you think you know everything there is to know about keeping your pup healthy, I can guarantee you are missing big things. Even when it comes to working out your dog, it explains how animals burn calories, and how to do it in a safe manner, and things you make think are safe really aren’t. Totally interesting right?

via [www.lifeofabusywife.com]



OPULUXELtd.com                      LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

